Winner of:

  • Arts Council of Ireland funds awarded for short story collection manuscript, judged by an independent panel, 2014
  • Writer’s residency at Cave Cottage, Galway, awarded 2009
  • Arts Council of Ireland Literature Award (for one month residency at Tyrone Guthrie Centre), 2008
  • Hennessy New Irish Writer Award and Hennessy Best Emerging Fiction Award, 2007, judged by Douglas Kennedy and Eilis Ni Dhuibhne
  • Arts Council of Ireland, one-year Bursary in Literature
  • South Dublin County Council one-year Literature Bursary
  • UCD School Of Film Scholarship
  • Nora Fahy Literary Award, judged by British author John Saul
  • Elizabeth Newsom Award/Carers Association, judged by poets Pat Boran and Mary O’Donnell
  • Poetry Ireland/Arts Council Scholarship for Eastern Washington University Summer School
  • Fallen Leaves Radio Short Story Award, judged by Evelyn Conlon
  • William Allingham Short Story Award, judged by Brian Leyden

Runner up:

 Nominated for:

  • 2013 Commended in Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition
  • 2012 Shortlisted & commended with special mention, Ink Tears (UK) Flash Fiction Award
  • 2012 Shortlisted for Poetry Lostock’s (UK) Poetry Award
  • 2012 Special mention RTE’s Arena, Flash challenge
  • 2012 Longlisted for Ink Tears (UK) Short Story Award
  • 2012 Longlisted for Flash 500 (UK) First Quarter 2011 and 2012
  • 2011 Shortlisted William Trevor/Elizabeth Bowen International Short Story Award
  • 2011 Five Stop Story Award (UK)
  • 2009 Limnisa Short Story Competition (Greece)
  • 2007 The Jonathan Swift Award
  • Francis MacManus (RTE), three stories shortlisted
  • The Sunday Tribune/Hennessy Literary Awards, three stories shortlisted
  • Martin Healy Award
  • Fish International Short Story Competition
  • Fingal Scribe Award
  • PJ O’Connor Radio Play Award
  • George A Birmingham Short Story Award

Awarded M.Phil. in Creative Writing (Distinction) by Trinity College, Dublin