Tags

, , ,

I’m delighted to hear that I won second prize in The New Writer Magazine (UK) Micro Fiction Category. The judge, Catherine Smith, was twice shortlisted for the Forward Prize among other accomplishments.  I received a very welcome sterling cheque and a lovely letter from the magazine with these encouraging comments from Catherine: “I admired each (of the top six) writer’s confidence in knowing what to leave out – the power of specific imagery to suggest more than was actually stated in the stories. In ‘The Bridge’ (by Valerie Sirr), I admired the risks the writer took with imagery and language, the sense of menace lurking beneath the surface.” My piece will be published in The New Writer’s ‘The Collection’ in July.

My flash piece ‘Robbed’ features on National Flash Fiction Day’s website. It was first published in The Irish Times.

ROPES, Galway (the MA in Literature and Publishing class’s annual Review of Postgraduate English Studies at NUI Galway) is using my Twitter length story for their 20th issue, ‘Links’. The launch date is set for 26th of April, 2012 to coincide with Cúirt International Festival of Literature.

I had a flash piece longlisted for Flash500’s competition and ‘Made You Look’, my short story was longlisted for Ink Tears Short Story Competition. Ink Tears is an interesting project supporting new writing and you can get involved as a writer or a reader. Some members of their community are here where you’ll see some familiar faces.

Finally the US magazine ‘The Rusty Nail’ are publishing my flash story ‘Tyrants’ in their next issue. They publish work both on their webzine and in a print edition and some of their writers have impressive bios so I’m very pleased to be included.

Thanks to the editors and judges of the above and if you’d like to submit work to any of those outlets just click on the links.

