Tags

, , , ,

Advertisement for Waterman fountain-pens, 1919

Image via Wikipedia

What tools do you use for your writing, blogging or time-management? These days writers have an arsenal of tools to choose from, from word processors, to content managers, organization and more.

I started using Dropbox a while back and it saves a lot of hassle. You can download it on all your devices and if you update a file from one device it automatically updates across all devices. It saves messing about with emailing yourself updated versions of stories, for example!

Google Reader helps me to keep track of feeds and it definitely saves time.

I’ve used RoughDraft for easy formatting of plays and a screenplay I wrote.

Duotrope and Submishmash are handy for keeping track of submissions as mentioned in an earlier post. I still have a hardback notebook for other submissions though and because my Internet company can’t seem to provide a consistent connection (despite four engineers and three modems), I’m reluctant to relinquish all of my paper ‘office’.

I use Microsoft Works for a ‘To Do’ list because I need constant reminders and they pop up on my notebook’s screen every time I boot up which forces me to pay attention. I came across a handy digital ‘post it’ note recently that I might try. I forget to check diaries so paper diaries aren’t much good for me. I bring my notebook everywhere. I considered an iPad, but I tried a friend’s and I prefer the physical feedback I get from my keys to a smeary touch screen. It feels closer to writing somehow and I believe that the physical effort of writing or typing helps a writer to tap into the subconscious – a bit like a painter using a brush, or a musician using an instrument.

My phone reminds me to do things, but I must admit I tend to re-schedule immediately just to feel like I’ve taken some action.

WordPress has some handy blogging tools built in, like ‘Freshly Pressed’ and ‘Zemanta’.

I tried out a visual thesaurus recently and I like the idea of it. It mimics the free association of your brain more than a paper-bound one, but I think you have to pay after a free trial.

Are you a gadget person? Do you still use paper diaries and notebooks?  I can never resist a beautiful notebook. Are you nostalgic – maybe you love fountain pens?

How about copyrighting your online writing? I don’t post work-in-progress or even finished work unless it’s already published, but I know that works for some writers who benefit from the deadlines and potential feedback. Should we copyright all online writing? What’s the best copyrighting tool?

